Happy Mother’s Day! Enjoy the new.

This week’s new?  WAAAAYYAYAY more fun than last week’s new.  Thursday I volunteered tending bar for the Portland Rose Festival Foundation.  My friend Steph is the Sales and Marketing Intern, and recruited me to bartend for the Meet n’ Greet she put together.  It was a BLAST!  Totally passed out a ton of cards (including one to a guy who I’m pretty sure thinks I was hitting on him, despite the fact I said to him, “Oh, I’m happily married.  I’m not hitting on you.”  Smooth, Roz.  Real smooth.)   Friday I tried something new at Trader Joe’s.  What, I have no idea.  I remember thinking, “Oh, that’s new!  I can review it for my blog!”  Sadly, I have no friggin’ clue what the hell it was.  Sigh.  Smooth, Roz.  Real smooth.

Because it’s Mother’s Day. So why not.

Yesterday was a fun bunch of new!!  I went to Aurora, Oregon.  Where the hell is that, you’re probably wondering, and rightly so.  It’s a quaint little town in the heart of Oregon wine country.  It’s chalk full o’ charm, complete with antique stores, an adorable little museum and friendly old people all over the darn place.  We were there for this:

Bring Mom to town May 11 or 12 with our special package described below. It was SO fun!  Who knew Aurora was such a hip town?

Monday I tried a new Sushi place with our awesome friends Adeline and Bruce.  I also got a new outfit.  Exciting!

Tuesday I got a new book.  It was a present from one of our Airbnb guests.  She’s a PhD in Classical Italian Literature, and, appropriately, her gift was a book in that genre.  It’s called The Decameron.  I haven’t started it yet, but Dr. Deb helpfully left a whole sheet of notes and explanations for me when I do.  Thoughtful!

Wednesday/Thursday were new foods/wine.  I know this because I jotted “food/wine.”   I really need to start taking better notes.

Friday I went to an interactive showing of the Big Lebowski.  OH my GOD!  It was awesome.  Since I was dressed as Walter (Clayton was the Dude, of course) I was dubbed a “Waltress” and got to beat a pinata during the car smashing scene.

The Dude abides.

Yesterday I went to the Dragontree Spa and spent 2.5 hours of total green tea/aromatherapy/foot bath/massage bliss.  Five minutes at work practically undid it all, but it was nice while it lasted.  🙂  I also got a new hat.  Today I’m running/walking a new 5k.  Angus is coming, too.  He’ll be in the stroller.  Wish us luck!

 

Leave a comment